Thanksgiving (I’m still not Andy Rooney)

Like anyone under the age of 40 remembers Rooney.  Anyways, on the holiday where we are supposed to count our blessings…why not think about that, at least before the turkey hits the table tomorrow with the mashed potatoes and gravy.

  • I’m thankful for whoever came up with the concept of putting gravy on potatoes.  And on turkey.  You sir (or ma’am) were genius.
  • Sports on Thanksgiving is cheapened.  It used to be two NFL games and that was it.  Now there’s three NFL games, NBA games, college games.  More is not always better.
  • Unless it is turkey and scratch-made gravy.
  • Does anyone really go outside and play football as a family?  Every family I know’s got kids playing video games.  Us?–we’ll play boardgames.
  • I’m thankful for having a competent boss (my athletic director, not my wife).  Until you’ve worked with poor managers (see: my time at Ultra Pro), you don’t appreciate having a good one.  The problem is there are too many administrators so the good ones get buried.
  • I’m thankful every athletic department I’ve worked for, my boss has been great–Jim Stone, Matt Hensley, Randy/Dan/John at Allen, Ron at LLCC, Laurie Thompson for T-town.
  • I’m thankful for having two dogs at night (we actually have three)–one likes snuggling against my knees, the other against my back.  It’s like furry, happy heaters…great for sore joints.
  • I’m thankful for the last days before marijuana is legalized.  Once we get to January 1, most places in Illinois will start smelling like the State House governs.  Ugh.
  • I’m thankful for my wife–she found noise-cancelling headphones that fit.  Now I can tune out the world completely.  It’s the little things in life, y’know?
  • It’s good to have kids who clean up after themsel—-nevermind.  Wrong family.
  • I’ve got a couple hundred alumni parents now.  I’m thankful they trusted me with the care of their daughter as a coach.
  • I’m thankful for almost every one of those athletes, too.  It’s not what they did on the court, but what’s come afterwards–moms, NICU nurses, college, high school, and club coaches, teachers, all following their dreams.
  • I’m thankful for the crappy teachers/coaches I had in school.  They provided a perfect blueprint of what NOT to do.
  • I’m thankful for my heritage, being 1st-generation American.  If I was born yesterday, my mom’s family trying to come here, they would not be admitted, simply because of education-level and lack of wealth.  No one immigrates when they are wealthy and have influence.  People move for a better life.  That’s what America has meant for my family.
  • I love whoever the engineers were that built the Taurus-X.  In September, 2019, two deer ran in front of me going 60mph.  They added to my kill count (I’m a multiple ace, by the way).  The car??  Drove another 120 miles and was repairable.  It may outlive Keith Richards.
  • I’m thankful for the power-off button on the radio during Cubs telecasts.  There’s only so much Ron Coomer you can take.  Give him another 20 years and he may become this generation’s Tim McCarver.
  • I’m thankful for turkey.  Yes, I’ve said it twice.  It’s important.
  • And gravy.
  • I’m thankful for being able to have weekends where I get to see friends–hopefully one coming up.  We age, but those weekends are as if time’s stood still….meaning our maturity level remains that of 13-yr old boys.
  • No, farts, poop, and body functions never stop being funny.
  • I’m thankful for today, just for today’s sake.  I appreciate it because it is here, then gone, never to come again.
  • I’m thankful for the U.S. Constitution.  Amazing it can withstand the torture it has been put through for the past 28 years–by two political parties and a generation more intent on ‘winning’ than doing the right thing.
  • I’m thankful for the rising generation that old people seem to despise.  Someday someone will read this blog and find this comment: “Millennials are the next ‘Greatest Generation’.”  If current “leaders” haven’t mangled it beyond repair, they will put the world right within a generation.
  • Music.  Man, what would life be like without it?  I don’t care if it is a foursome of violins, Hendrix wailing away on an electric guitar, or Jerry Lee Lewis pounding a piano to death, my life is better with music in it.

Well, there ya go.  That’s a good list of things, I think.  My daughter comes home in a few hours and then we will all be united for Gluttony and Nap Day, 2022.  I hope you have things to be thankful for.

One thought on “Thanksgiving (I’m still not Andy Rooney)

  1. love the list….heads upon the marijuana. Everything will smell like a dead skunk. and I mean everything. Courthouse, banks, dogparks, schools, storefronts, country roads, the car in front of you and since Oregon has ‘pedestrians come first when it comes to paved roads’ mantra, we now have a really high count of people getting hit by cars…..stoners and cell phones are winners here. yep there are laws, but no one really enforces it. and if you do complain, all the stoners from the east side will camp where ever you are to make your life skunky. happy turkey day! (cuz that’s what really matters……oh and the gravy)

    On Wed, Nov 27, 2019 at 12:40 PM Good, Bad, I’m the Guy with the Blog wrote:

    > thinkingbeyondthebox2018 posted: “Like anyone under the age of 40 > remembers Rooney. Anyways, on the holiday where we are supposed to count > our blessings…why not think about that, at least before the turkey hits > the table tomorrow with the mashed potatoes and gravy. I’m thankful for w” >

    Like

Leave a comment